General Bylaw Article 2-19

Parks and Fields Commission


The Parks and Fields Commission shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the Board of Selectmen, two for a term of one year, two for two years, and three for three years, and thereafter, all for three year terms.

It shall be the duty of this Commission and each of its members to oversee the management and maintenance of Town owned parks, fields and related facilities, including but not limited to the scheduling of events and activities, the maintenance of grounds and related structures, the setting of priorities, the hiring and termination of necessary personnel, the handling of and the accounting for funds entrusted to their care, the planning for future growth and all other duties that normally are associated with these responsibilities.

Where the aforesaid responsibilities overlap the responsibilities of another existing municipal board or commission, that municipal board or commission shall retain jurisdiction over those responsibilities unless the subject responsibilities are delegated to the Parks and Fields Commission by mutual consent of both the Parks and Fields Commission and the delegating municipal board or commission.

Members shall annually choose a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Clerk from their membership.

One member of the Board of Selectmen may serve as an ex-officio a member of the Parks and Field Commission. (10/2016)


  1. No one may use the Town of Hanson Skate Board Park without proper safety equipment, which shall include a helmet, elbow pads and kneepads. This section may be enforced by the Police and/or Parks and Fields Commission.